Sweet Dreams Series by Tory Gates

Searching for Roy Buchanan by Tory Gates.

Book 1 of 3: Sweet Dreams Series.

Aki Sato is not your typical teenager. She has weathered the loss of her parents and joined her brothers, Kenji and Hiro in a struggle to keep the family business, and themselves together.

Aki has also inherited the Amida Syndrome, the power of time travel. Without her mother to guide her, Aki has no experience in its use, nor can she defend against the terrifying nightmares that haunt her.

A chance breakdown leads the siblings to Kazu, an eccentric retired blues musician. In a series of misadventures, Aki must guide her brothers through time, space, and the world of the blues. In time, Aki not only discovers her own voice, but the power of music.

The journey through time and life is just getting started in “Searching for Roy Buchanan.”

Five Stars: The Power Of Music!

Fascinating time travel, action adventure involving teenage characters who discover the power of music.

As an avid listener to classical and jazz, I admit, I had to google the late great American guitarist and blues musician Leroy “Roy” Buchanan. My husband plays professional clarinet and is very familiar with this pioneer of Telecaster sound.

As a broadcaster for more than thirty years, Author Tory Gates has found his new calling, as a vivid fantasy story teller.

Book One, Searching for Roy Buchanan (Sweet Dreams), begins with teenage Aki experiencing something between a night mare and night terrors, as she “cried out one long, agonized scream”.

As a grandmother and book reviewer, my heart went out the kids. I am awe of the mystical and musical experiences that touched these young lives. A story of tragedy and triumph. A compelling journey into art, music appreciation, Japanese language, wrapped in healing mystical time travel that brings acute self-awareness and an adventure that brings unexpected maturity in time when Aki and her brothers should still be children.

Let me draw you into the story line in Chapter 5.

“Aki sat on her bed. Naked but for the T-shirt she slept in, Aki sweated, but was cold. She drew her comforter about herself in the dark room.

She looked up through her tousled hair, at the sun, which fingered its way through the blinds. Fingers slipped between one another, Aki rested them against her forehead and breathed. She wanted to stand but could not.

Thoughts, random and specific, passed through her mind, and though she tried to set them free again, she could not. When I was young, my mother called me a dreamer. She meant it with affection.

The truth is, while I may have at times imagined myself as someone else, I have no dreams. Those things I might have wished for were cast aside when Mom and Dad died. I am no longer a girl; all of us grew up that day.”

I invite you to see for yourself what happens to Aki and her brothers. What is Amida Syndrome? Is it a gift or curse?

Now we wait for book two in this series.

Editorial Review (Book Marketing Global Network).

Product Details:
Paperback: ‎191 Pages
Publisher: ‎Brown Posey Press (February 20, 2019)
Language: ‎English
Fiction (Time Travel)
Fiction (Music Reference)
Fiction (Young Adult)
Fiction (Contemporary)

Amazon Print:


Call It Love by Tory Gates.

Book 2 of 3: Sweet Dreams Series.

The Sweet Dreams Series returns…

Months have passed since Aki Sato discovered her time-traveling powers. Aki knows she cannot change the past nor can she solve her problems in the real world. Beset by fresh trauma, Aki feels there’s no way out. Her only hope comes from music and a voice that calls to her from her power of time travel.

When Aki agrees to help her brother Hiro start a new band, they are joined by two people that Aki can’t help but be attracted to: Kiya, a brilliant pianist and singer; and Zendo, a former monk and guitarist. Both bring their own musical skill and style, but Aki feels something from each that goes far beyond music.

Through friendship, trust, and new connections, Aki goes back in time to uncover a hidden past and to make an amazing discovery. Once more, she is reminded of the healing power of music, and people, in Call It Love.

Product Details:
Paperback: ‎251 Pages
Publisher: ‎Brown Posey Press (September 23, 2021)
Language: ‎English
Fiction (Time Travel)
Fiction (Music Reference)
Fiction (Young Adult)
Fiction (Contemporary)

Amazon Print:


Shake Hands with the Devil by Tory Gates.

Book 3 of 3: Sweet Dreams Series.

Aki Sato is back…

Aki’s life has surpassed even her wildest dreams. In five years, Aki has found success and stardom in music, and more importantly, love in her partner and collaborator, Kiya.

But for Aki, the dream has become a nightmare: Kiya is lost in time, and a force Aki has never before encountered blocks her ability to time travel, the Amida.

Aki discovers a hidden enemy within the Amida, who seeks her power and leaves the thing most dear to Aki hanging in the balance. To Aki, there is no alternative but one dangerous, and desperate gamble.

The third volume in the Sweet Dreams Series, “Shake Hands with the Devil” finds Aki Sato at her most obsessed, even ruthless in her search for Kiya and to protect the Amida. Meanwhile, Kiya sails the Great Lakes in 1960s America, knowing she is on her own, until Aki can find her.

Tory Gates brings the Sweet Dreams Series full circle in “Shake Hands with the Devil,” available at SunburyPress.com, Amazon and wherever great books are sold.

Product Details:
Paperback: ‎233 Pages
Publisher: ‎Brown Posey Press (September 21, 2022)
Language: ‎English
Fiction (Time Travel)
Fiction (Music Reference)
Fiction (Young Adult)
Fiction (Contemporary)

Amazon Print:


About The Author:  Tory Gates has produced books for the Young Adult and Contemporary Fiction world since 2013. He takes readers to exotic locales, everyday places and brings to life characters that are relatable and real, while addressing real-life issues.

Tory is the author of the Sweet Dreams Series, a trilogy of works that combine time travel, Japanese culture and the power of music. “Searching for Roy Buchanan,” “Call it Love” and “Shake Hands with the Devil” are all available on Brown Posey Press, the fiction imprint of Sunbury Press Books. He is also the author of two other Brown Posey releases, the award-winning “A Moment in the Sun” and “Live from the Café.” Tory’s first book, “Parasite Girls” was released on Amazon and Smashwords.

A broadcaster with more than thirty-five years’ experience, Tory is a journalist, a presenter, producer. He can be heard on the Radio Pennsylvania Network and The Brown Posey Press Show, an interview program for independent and self-published authors. Tory is also known as “DJ`Riff,” host of “The Music Club,” a blues program for the London-based Radio-Airwaves Station.

A native of Vermont, Tory lives in Harrisburg, PA with a cat named Kao, and can be found anyplace that serves good coffee!

Amazon Author’s Page:

Twitter: (@ToryGates)


Author’s Page At Book Marketing Global Network

Tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Book Marketing Global Network & Book Reviews Central

Book Marketing Global Network/Book Reviews Central Book Promotion Designed To Build A Readership! Editorial Reviews For Published & Unpublished Books! Gold Star & Blue Star Book Review Programs! https://bookmarketingglobalnetwork.com/

Comments are closed.